June 28, 2016



Carlo_Greco_1 (1)

Prof. Carlo Greco, Chair of Radiation Oncology at the CCC

Under the direction of Dr. Carlo Greco, our Radiation Oncology Department utilises the most advanced equipment and techniques in the practice of stereotactic radiation therapy to treat cancer. In this form of treatment a specially designed coordinate system is used to image the patient’s organs while simultaneously focusing high intensity radiation on the tumour. This form of treatment allows for highly accurate placement of the radiation beam to fight tumours and metastasis and permits “single dose” radiotherapy, where eligible patients can be treated in only a single session. This type of treatment is known as Single Dose Image Guided RadioTherapy (SD-IGRT).

The CCC is one of the few centres worldwide with the expertise to offer this advanced form of treatment. Not only does SD-IGRT offer improved patient comfort and convenience but, due to the form of radiation delivery, is believed to offer improved clinical outcomes in the treatment of certain tumours. The advanced radiotherapy techniques used at the CCC were developed at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in the USA by Dr. Zvi Fuks, Director of the Champalimaud Centre for the Unknown.

In addition to SD-IGRT, our Radiotherapy Department is also fully-equipped to offer conventional forms of radiotherapy, with each treatment plan being created on an individual and personalised basis.

In order to stay at the forefront of radiation oncology, we are committed to employing the most advanced technology available. Through this dedication to working at the vanguard, the CCC is able to offer the most state-of-the-art therapeutic devices to its patients. Our radiotherapy team also offers advanced training and education to clinicians and scientists from around the world and has established one of Europe’s foremost radiation oncology clinical schools.

The Champalimaud Clinical Centre offers an unmatched radiotherapy service to its patients and leads the way in the implementation of new and effective forms of technology.

Our Radiation Oncologists

Carlo Greco, Chair Of Radiation Oncology

Stefano Arcangeli

Luis Vasco Louro

Javier Morales

Beatriz Nunes

Oriol Pares

Nuno Pimentel

Valentina Pinzi

Marco Possanzini